Egypt swears in 9 new ministers, 5 new governors including 1st female governor

The new ministers appointed in Tuesday’s cabinet shakeup were sworn in before President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi on Thursday in addition to five new governors, among them Egypt’s first female governor and two generals.

The new governors have been appointed to the Alexandria, Beheira, Daqahlia, Qalyubiya and New Valley governorates.

The first woman to be appointed to the post in Egypt, Nadia Abdo was sworn in as governor of Beheira, where she has served as deputy governor since 2013. Previously a chemical engineer she spent 10 years as chief of the Alexandria Drinking Water Company and presiding over water utilities projects in the governorate, she was also a member of the National Council for Women’s Rights and the former ruling National Democratic Party, headed by ousted President Hosni Mubarak.

Mohamed Sultan, the former governor of Beheira, was sworn in as governor of Alexandria.

Ahmed Shaarawy was appointed governor of Daqhalia, a post previously held by Major General Hossam al-Din Imam.

Another major general, Mohamed al-Ashmawy, who formerly governed the New Valley governorate, was to be sworn in as governor of Qalyubia, replacing Major General Amr Abdel Moneim while Major General Mohamed Zamalout will fill Ashmawy’s former New Valley post.

The nine new ministers appointed to Prime Minister Sherif Ismail’s government on Tuesday were also sworn in during Thursday’s ceremony.

The reshuffle, first announced in January, has seen Sahar Nasr sworn in as investment and international cooperation minister, Hala al-Saeed as planning minister, Khaled Abdel Ghaffar as higher education and scientific research minister and Abdel Moneim al-Banna as agriculture minister. Tarek Shawki has been appointed as minister of education, Ali Meselhy as supply minister, Hesham Mahdy as transportation minister, Mohamed Sherif as local development minister and Omar Arafa as minister of parliamentary affairs.

The last reshuffle of Ismail’s cabinet took place in March last year, and saw the appointment of 10 new ministers and four deputy ministers.

Correction: An earlier version of this article referred to Ahmed Shaarawy as a major general. We removed his title as this could not be confirmed.


You have a right to access accurate information, be stimulated by innovative and nuanced reporting, and be moved by compelling storytelling.

Subscribe now to become part of the growing community of members who help us maintain our editorial independence.
Know more

Join us

Your support is the only way to ensure independent,
progressive journalism